The Society is a network of academics, writers, scholars and others with relevant interests.  It is an independent body with no formal association with the executors of the estate of F. R. and Q. D. Leavis.

The aims and objects of the Society are to:

  • Promote informed appreciation of the work of F. R. Leavis and in particular the relationship between his work as a literary teacher and critic and his work as a discursive thinker
  • Recognise the importance in relation to Leavis's life and work of 'the other of the collaborating pair', his wife, Q. D. Leavis, and of her own contribution to literary criticism and scholarship
  • Act as a centre for information, discussion and exchange, especially among people working in, or with a close interest in, the field of Leavis studies or research or in related fields
  • Facilitate appropriate activities, events, research and publications pursuant to the above objectives.


  • Dr Peter Sharrock (Chair)
  • Dr Heward Wilkinson (Editor)
  • Mrs Glenys Willars (Secretary)
  • Mr Bob Hayward (Treasurer)
  • Professor Michael Bell
  • Mr Hugh Black-Hawkins
  • Professor Philip Bufithis (USA)
  • Mr Paul Filmer
  • Professor Li Cao (China)
  • Mr Patrick Harrison CBE
  • Dr Chris Joyce (Founding Chair)
  • Mr David Matthews (advisory)
  • Dr Danièle Moyal-Sharrock
  • Professor Neil Roberts (advisory)
  • Professor C. N. Srinath Narasimhaiah (India)
  • Professor Laurence Steven (Canada)
  • Professor Jeremy Tambling
  • Honorary members of the Society: Sir Quentin Blake CBE; Professor Nora Crook; Ms Miriam Margolyes OBE; Mr Howard Jacobson; Mrs Francis Wilkinson



Literary criticism provides the test for life and concreteness; where it degenerates the instruments of thought degenerate too, and thinking, released from the testing and energizing contact with the full living consciousness, is debilitated, and betrayed to the academic, the abstract and the verbal. It is of little use to discuss values if the sense for value - the experience and perception of value - is absent.
FRL Original introduction to Towards Standards of Criticism